The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

Let’s be honest, here: you know what The Hunger Games is. You know what it’s about, you’ve read it, you’ve seen the movie, you don’t need me to summarize it. So I’m not going to bother with a plot description, or even a detailed review listing all the reasons I like this book. Because I respect you too much.

Instead, we here at Loud Bookish Type present:

The Hunger Games
or,
How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bandwagon.

*all following conversations did actually take place, and have been recreated as accurately as possible.

SCENE 1 – our main characters, MADELINE and her ROOMMATE, are at lunch. Because they are both English majors, both want to be writers, and ROOMMATE in particular is interested in writing young adult novels, the conversation turns to books. As it often does.

MADELINE: So have you read The Hunger Games yet? Everybody’s losing their shit over them and I think I might have to finally jump on the bandwagon here.
ROOMMATE: Yeah, I’ve heard a lot about them but I haven’t read them. I don’t even know what they’re about.
MADELINE: They’re sort of a futuristic dystopian allegory for reality tv, I think.
ROOMMATE: Ugh, I hate dystopian novels. That’s disappointing, now I don’t want to read it.
*bear this line in mind, as it will become very important later.*
A FEW MINUTES PASS.
ROOMMATE: You know, there’s a Barnes and Noble just down the block…
MADELINE: Let’s go.

SCENE 2 – Because MADELINE has a fuckton of required reading to do, ROOMMATE starts and finishes the book first, giving MADELINE almost daily updates. It goes something like this.

DAY 1:
MADELINE: So, how’s The Hunger Games going?
ROOMMATE: Not bad. The beginning was pretty slow, but it’s picking up.

DAY 3:
MADELINE: Any better?
ROOMMATE: This book is fucking amazing.

DAY 4:
MADELINE: You’re finished already?
ROOMMATE: Yes. Also I ordered Catching Fire on Amazon. It’ll be here in a few days.

DAY 5:
ROOMMATE: MADELINE, HURRY UP AND READ THIS GODDAMN BOOK SO I HAVE SOMEONE TO TALK ABOUT IT WITH.

SCENE 3- MADELINE has finished The Hunger Games, and before skipping off to write a bizarre review on Goodreads, reports to ROOMMATE that she’s done. ROOMMATE has, by this point, purchased and finished both Catching Fire and Mockingjay.

MADELINE: I finished it! It was awesome!
ROOMMATE: Great. Hurry up and read the next two – we need to talk about Mockingjay NOW.
MADELINE: Okay, let me just –
ROOMMATE: NOW! READ! FASTER!
MADELINE: AUGH!

Verdict: four out of five stars

Leave a comment

Filed under Review

Leave a Reply

